Bushenyi District was curved out of An¬kole district in 1974 and in 1993 Ntun¬gamo district was created and took away Rushenyi and Kajara counties and with effect from July 2010 counties of Sheema, Bunyaruguru, Buhweju and Ruhinda were also elevated to District status.
The District has a population of density of 234,000 (as per 2014 census) who occupy a land area of 841 square kilometres. The district is at 910-2000 metres above sea level. The main physical features of the district include
The district has two constituencies and the Municipality. Igara East and Igara West.
Igara East has five sub counties which are; Bumbaire, Ibaare, Kyabugimbi, Kyeizoo¬ba and Ruhumuro.
Igara West has four sub counties which are; Nyabubaare,Kyamuhunga, Bitooma and Kakanju.
There are four Town boards and these are; Kizinda, Kashenyi, Rwentuuha and Kyabugimbi.
One Town Council which is Kyamuhunga, and one Municipality.
The Municipality has three divisions which are; Central division, Ishaka divi¬sion and Nyakabiriizi division.

Bushenyi district geographical features are the Kalinzu forests, the Rwenzori ranges, including the Margherita and Stanley peaks, which can be viewed for the district. The district has one cra¬ter called Lake Katunga in Kakanju Sub County as a water body. There are a num¬ber of mineral resources in Bushenyi that include gold in Kyamuhunga. These can further be explored to benefit the people of Bushenyi.

The eastern and central part of the district is a low-lying plateau with undulating hills. The rest of the district is hilly with sharp valleys.

The district receives 1500-2000mm of rainfall annually and the mean annual temperature ranges from 12.5o C to 30o C. This climate is conducive and suitable for agricultural activities carried out in the district.

The district is endowed with loamy fertile soils with varying proportions of sand and clay. It has tropical rain forest vegetation of Kalinzu, Imaramagambo, crop plantations, grasslands and wetland vegetation.

There are a number of wetlands that com¬prise of swamps seasonally flooded wet¬lands, swamp forest, permanently flood¬ed papyrus, grass swamp and upland bog. These include; Kandekye, Kyamugam¬bira, Nyaruzinga and Nyamirembe. Wet¬lands in the district perform a number of functions, such as; mitigating the effects of floods and droughts, providing fish resources and support cropping and graz¬ing along their margins. They are centres of high biodiversity and productivity as well as valuable refuges and sources of food like fish. Furthermore they are active biological filters in the treatment of efflu¬ents, but due to this function they are also sensitive to the accumulation of pollution